Please enable Java in your browser's "Options" (or "Preferance") menu to view this page Concordia's Thursday Report____________November 5, 1998

New gifts enrich Concordia's Undergraduate Awards


Sonia Larin, of Shell Canada, presents one of the Recruitment Scholarships to Erin O'Connor.

The Concordia Concert Hall overflowed with proud families when the Undergraduate Awards ceremony was held in the Concordia Concert Hall on October 21.

A number of new awards were among the many presented. Shell Canada Limited Recruitment Scholarships went to Erin O'Connor (Marketing) and Nelson Mendonca (Computer Engineering).

Bauer Incorporated Women's Hockey Awards went to Kari Ann Colpitts (Accountancy) and S. Catherine Bertrand (Biology).

The Carolyn and Richard Renaud Entrance Bursaries, the result of a $2-million endowment by the active Board of Governors member and his wife, was inaugurated.

Another new award was the BPW Montreal Judith Litvack Women's Scholarship, presented by the Business and Professional Women's Association to Alena Seresova (Classics, Modern Languages and Linguistics).

The first Jaan Saber, Phoivos Ziogas Memorial Scholarship went to Benoît Goudreault-Emond and Jin Long Hua, both of whom are in Computer Engineering. The inaugural Lightspeed Software Technologies Scholarship went to Michelle D. Hoffman (Physics).

The Mix96 Scholarship, presented every year to an outstanding student in broadcast journalism, has been renamed the Mix96 - Nick Auf der Maur Memorial Scholarship. The first winner of the renamed honour was Luke Andrews (Communication Studies).

A memorial bursary in the name of former staff member Nancy
Torbit was inaugurated by her husband, Gary Torbit, who was accompanied on stage by the couple's two daughters.

Graduate fellowships and faculty research grants for 1998-99 were presented at a similar ceremony on October 27, also at the Concordia Concert Hall.

Copyright 1998 Concordia's Thursday Report.