March 19,1998

The A. Ross Seaman Award winners

The A. Ross Seaman Awards, given every year in memory of a much-loved community leader and educator, were presented March 12 at a potluck supper at Dawson College. The emcee was Professor Emeritus Richard McDonald, chair of the A. Ross Seaman Memorial Leadership Development Fund, established in 1987 to administer donations. Awards are given for community leadership to students in the places Seaman's influence was most felt, which include Dawson College, the YMCA, and two departments at Concordia.

The evening included games and entertainment by students, a fundraising auction, and a speech by Paul Cappelli of Dawson College, called "Talking About Ross."
In the photo below are Professor Emeritus Dick McDonald with the A. Ross Seaman winners from Concordia, Susan Lee (Leisure Studies), Karine Carlevaris (Leisure Studies) and Zillous Byer (Applied Social Science).

Copyright 1998 Thursday Report
Please E-MAIL us your comments and suggestions.