CTR HomePublic Relations HomeAbout CTRPublication ScheduleCTR Archives


September 14, 2000 John Mackay, Michel Laroche honoured by their peers




Computer Science Professor John McKay has been elected to the Academy of Science of the Royal Society of Canada. He will be inducted at a banquet on November 17 at the Château Laurier, in Ottawa.

Every year the Royal Society elects up to 60 new Fellows from across Canada based on a rigorous peer review process.

Concordia now has eight faculty members with the right to the initials FRSC after their names: sociologist Hubert Guindon (1978), biologist Rose Sheinin (1981), philosopher Kai Nielsen (1988), computer scientist Ching Y. Suen (1995), psychologist Jane Stewart (1996), theologian Michel Despland (1998), marketing expert Michel Laroche (1998).

Professor Laroche was awarded the Prix Jacques-Rousseau at the 56th edition of the Gala de la science of ACFAS, held at McGill University on September 21. Jean Rochon, Minister of Research, Science and Technology of Quebec, was at the ceremony. A special insert in last weekend’s edition of Le Devoir featured the prize-winners, including half a page on Dr. Laroche.











Copyright 2000, Concordia University