CTR Home Internal  Relations and Communications Home About CTR Publication Schedule CTR Archives

October 26, 2000 17 new undergrad awards go to top students



Photo of award winners and presenters

The Lewis Harris Memorial Award, named for a well-loved Gazette reporter, was presented to third year journalism student Caroline Plante (second from right). With her are, from left, Lew's brother Leon, Peter Cooney and Lew's widow Marian Scott, all also journalists at The Gazette.

The Guadagni Lounge on the Loyola Campus, normally an undistinguished-looking place for students to catch their breath, was transformed into a gracious reception hall for the Undergraduate Awards ceremony on October 25.

It was well attended by award-winning students, their families, donors and staff, including deans, associate deans and other members of the senior administration who lent their presence to what is always a heartwarming event.

Marianna Simeone — alumna, fundraiser, member of the Board of Governors and broadcaster — was a vivacious emcee, along with Roger Côté, Director of Financial Aid and Awards.

Because they have grown in number, the awards to undergraduates had to be given over two evenings. Those funded through Annual Giving and other undesignated sources were presented at a reception on September 27.

Seventeen new awards were inducted on October 25:

• Canada Post Corporation Scholarship: a capital campaign gift that provides three scholarships a year in Mechanical, Industrial and Computer Engineering

• Reader’s Digest Scholarship: another campaign gift that will fund two scholarships a year in Journalism. The president of Reader’s Digest, Bernard Poirier, is a Loyola College alumnus.

• Robert Ball Memorial Scholarship: In a moment that moved everyone present, the parents of the late Robert Ball, who had travelled from Portland, Ore., inducted this scholarship in Music.

• Cecil Buller–John J.A. Murphy Scholarship in Drawing: This award in Studio Art was established by Dr. Sean Murphy in memory of his parents, both prolific artists.

• Anne Galler Memorial Scholarship: named in memory of the Education professor, who died last year. It was established by Dr. Galler’s husband Mark, and inducted by Richard Schmid, chair of the Department.

• Griffintown Award: This new award in Women’s Studies was established by a recent alumna, and was inducted by Lillian Robinson, Principal of the Simone de Beauvoir Institute.

• MAR-KIN Foundation Entrance Bursary: The capital campaign funded this bursary program in coordination with the university.

• George and Henry Tutsch Entrance Bursary: a campaign gift to the Faculty of Commerce and Administration created by the family of George and Henry Tutsch for students with entrepreneurial skills; it will provide tuition for three years. Henry Tutsch was a professor of Management.

• Nick Auf der Maur Award: an award funded through the capital campaign for a Journalism student in memory of the much-loved columnist and city councillor; it was inducted by former MP Warren Allmand.

• Chadha Family Foundation’s Indo-Canadian Award: This campaign award was created to coincide with the tricentenary of the Khalsa (Sikh) faith and to celebrate the centenary of an Indian presence in Canada.

• Engineering and Computer Science Graduating Class Bursary: established by ECA students.

• Brahm and Jo Jo Gelfand Bursary: a campaign gift established by Richard and Carolyn Renaud.

• Great-West Life Business Education Award: a campaign gift for Commerce and Administration students who demonstrate community involvement.

• Nissan Canada Award in Automotive Engineering: funded through the campaign, and given to Engineering and Computer Science students who are involved in Concordia’s student chapter of the Society for Automotive Engineers (SAE).

• Miriam Aaron Roland Bursary for Emergency Needs: a campaign gift for students who are in financial crisis; selection is by the Dean of Students and the Director of Financial Aid and Awards.

• Lewis Harris Memorial Award: given to a student of Journalism in memory of Lewis Harris, of The Gazette.